Region 8 (Eastern Visayas)

Eastern Visayas Region
Eastern Visayas or Region VIII is one of the two regions of the Philippines having no land border with another region, MIMAROPA being the other. It is composed of two main islands, Leyte and Samar, connected by the famous San Juanico Bridge. It consists of six provinces namely, Biliran, Eastern Samar, Leyte, Northern Samar, Samar, Southern Leyte.

Eastern Visayas directly faces the Pacific Ocean. The land area of the region is 2,156,285 hectares. As of 2010, it has a population of 3,912,936.

There are 7 cities that helps the economy of the region grow stronger; these are:

1. Borongan City

2. Baybay City

3. Ormoc City

4. Tacloban City

5. Calbayog City

6. Catbalogan City

7. Maasin City